Ayahuasca welcome to the works album review.

Some musicians find inspiration, their muse, in a lot of thing but one in particular called Ben Lee, found his writhing and composing force in the Ayahuasca, this album inspire by this powerful medicine is one of the most out of this world experience for your ears.

Benjamin Michael Lee (born 11 September 1978) is an Australian musician and actor. Lee began his career as a musician at the age of 14 with the Sydney band Noise Addict, but focused on his solo career when the band broke up in 1995.Been Lee always was very curious for trying new sounds and ideas that he puts in his albums, in his 2013’s album Ayahuasca welcome to the works, his nine studio album, he uses this ancient vine to create dramatic yet relaxing melodies, soft pianos and a great vocal performance by Been Lee and his friend and music collaborator for this album, Jessica Chapnik Kahn, who also co-wrote and co-produced this album pack to the brim with haunting sounds.

Lee himself describes the album as “dynamic and joyful, meditative and tender, playful and experimental,” and hopes that “the music contains some small portion of the deep nourishment that I have experienced from the plant”.

The first track is called ”Invocation” and with a strong beatlesque influence this song evokes all the fears and call for redemption, the second track in the album is welcome to the house of mystical death begins in a vary dark tone, whispers the phrase ”im welling to go in” and suddenly the song become more up beat and overall more happy tone and let the next song start in a relaxing ways, it make you feel like all the bath stuff is gone and you are born again, thats why the next track its called ”Meditation on Being Born” a piano absord in a sweet melody that make you reflect about your life, very pleasant to the ears, the fourth track its called ”In Silence ” a chill acoustic guitar opens this track that talk about the silence of your mind and open you hart ot be healing. the fifth track ”The Shadow Of The Mind” its hypnotic and can be a little bit scary but in a beautiful way, the next track and the sixth in the album its call The will tho grow”, says good morning and welcome to been here, as a wake up call to see this wonderful world and live the present, “On My Knees” the sweet piano plays in the rain with a calm violin causes a very deep feeling of relax, very mystical track indeed, ”I Am That I Am” ist a track that claims redemption,”Song For Samuel” has a beautiful shamanic sound in it, and the album concludes with “Thank You”, closes the album in a spectacular way talking about all the Ayahuasca journey.

The album’s cover art was painted by Lee’s wife, Ione Skye

100% of the artist royalties collected from album sales were donated to the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies and the Amazon Conservation Team.

Track listing

All tracks written by Ben Lee and Jessica Chapnik Kahn.

  1. “Invocation”
  2. “Welcome To The House Of Mystical Death”
  3. “Meditation On Being Born”
  4. “In The Silence”
  5. “The Shadow Of The Mind”
  6. “The Will To Grow”
  7. “On My Knees”
  8. “I Am That I Am”
  9. “Song For Samuel”
  10. “Thank You”